History of BLFD


The Town of Batesburg-Leesville was consolidated in 1992 from the merger of the Batesburg and Leesville Fire Departments. Formal consolidation occurred when Tommy Shealy was named the B-L Fire Chief in December 1994.  The Batesburg Fire Department is believed to have been formed in 1908 thanks to a gift of equipment from the Middleburg Mill which had a fire company while the Leesville Fire Department was formed in 1926.

Today, the B-L Fire Department has four full-time employees and relies on the dedication of more than 30 volunteers.