Town Reminds Residents of Fireworks Ordinance

Posted by Seth Duncan Thursday, June 4, 2015 11:56:00 AM

With the 4th of July quickly approaching, the Town of Batesburg-Leesville hopes everyone has a safe and enjoyable 4th of July holiday, and would like to remind residents that Town Ordinance allows fireworks to be discharged between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. on July 4th only.

The Town Ordinance does not restrict the use, of what is commonly known as sparklers, which may be used at anytime. Additionally, all fireworks discharged must be under the direct supervision of a responsible adult.

Should any citizen discharge fireworks prior to 10:00 a.m. or after 10:00 p.m. on July 4th or discharge fireworks any other days around July 4th, law enforcement may respond and issue a citation for violation of the firework ordinance.

If you have questions regarding the firework ordinance, please call Town Hall. To report a violation, please call the Batesburg-Leesville Police Department at 532-4408.