Mayor and Council

The Town of Batesburg-Leesville has a Council-Manager form of government under which voters choose a Mayor and eight Town Council Members in November elections during each odd-numbered year. Terms of office are four years, with Council Members and Mayor serving staggered terms. The Town Manager, appointed by the Council, is the town's chief administrator and is primarily responsible for the efficient operation of the town government.

The Mayor and Council make policy and enact laws, rules and regulations in order to provide for future community and economic growth. The Council also provides direction and support for the orderly and efficient operation of town services.

Council meetings are generally held at 7:00 p.m. on the second Monday of each month at the Batesburg-Leesville Town Hall Council Chambers (Building B), located at 120 West Church Street.


Lancer Shull

Mr. Lancer Shull was elected Mayor in 2017. Prior to being elected Mayor, Mr. Shull served as the Secretary for Lexington County School District 3 Board of Trustees from 2015 until 2017.  Mr. Shull is also very active in the community and has held a number of positions of trust including Batesburg-Leesville Chamber of Commerce Chairman, President of Batesburg-Leesville Rotary Club, and member of the Lexington County Accommodations Committee. In addition, Mayor Shull is a husband and father, committed to managing growth, protecting our history, improving infrastructure, enhancing quality of life, and ensuring transparency in government. His current term will expire in 2021. 

Send Email

Council District Map

Barbara Brown

Council Member Barbara Brown was first elected to council in November 2021.  Her term will expire in 2025.

Send Email

District 1 Map

Olin Gambrell

Council Member Olin Gambrell was elected in November 2017 to fill the reminder of the unexpired term for District 2 and was re-elected in 2019 to a full term. Mr. Gambrell previously served the Town as the first Town Manager of consolidated Batesburg-Leesville in 1993. His current term will expire in 2023. 

Send Email

District 2 Map

Stephen "Steve" Cain

Council Member Steve Cain was first elected to represent District 3 in 2005. He was re-elected to his 3rd term in 2013 and later won a special election in 2015. In 2017, voters elected Mr. Cain for his 4th term as Council Member from the 3rd District. His current term will expire in 2021. 

Send Email

District 3 Map


Johnnie Mae Speech Lemon

Council Member Johnnie Mae Speech Lemon was elected to represent District 4 in November 2019.  Her term will expire in 2023. 

Send Email

District 4 Map

Shirley E. Mitchell

Council Member Shirley E. Mitchell was first elected to Town Council in 1997 and served until her resignation in 1999. In 2017, Ms. Mitchell rejoined Council, continuing her service to the Town in the 5th District. Her term expires in 2021.

Send Email

District 5 Map



Paul Wise

Council Member Paul Wise was elected to Town Council in 2019.  His term expires in 2023. 

Send Email

District 6 Map


Jason Prouse

Council Member Jason Prouse was first elected to represent District 7 in 2017. His current term will expire in 2021.

Send Email

District 7 Map

Bob Hall

Council Member Bob Hall was first elected to represent District 8 in 2019.  His current term will expire in 2023.

Send Email

District 8 Map