The Town of Batesburg-Leesville has a Council-Manager form of government under which voters choose a Mayor and eight Town Council Members in November elections during each odd-numbered year. Terms of office are four years, with Council Members and Mayor serving staggered terms. The Town Manager, appointed by the Council, is the town's chief administrator and is primarily responsible for the efficient operation of the town government.

The Mayor and Council make policy and enact laws, rules and regulations in order to provide for future community and economic growth. The Council also provides direction and support for the orderly and efficient operation of town services.

Council meetings are generally held at 7:00 p.m. on the second Monday of each month at the Batesburg-Leesville Police Department Complex, located at 644 West Columbia Avenue, Batesburg-Leesville, SC 29006.